Return Of The Bassman

Guess what I got?

Me and my bass

Betcha didn’t know that I used to play bass guitar, didja? I did, and for a long time, too. Took lessons and everything. At one time I had two basses, plus a sequencer, drum machine, a 4-track recorder, a keyboard, and a mess of effects-pedals, too. I’m not going to say I was great, but… if you were scouring the suburbs of Florida in the late 90’s looking for a third-rate New Order rip-off, you could do a lot worse.

Anyway, financial strains forced me to sell off my equipment about 4 years ago, and I hadn’t picked up anything with strings in that time period. I had been putting off buying another bass for the last couple of years. This year, with our bonus checks hot in our hands and with my wife’s encouragement, I got this sucker.

And it’s a 5-string, too. So, not only do I have to get used to playing all over again, I have to get used to that big-ass B-string at the top, which gives it an extra low-end sound.

But I don’t mind, because it feels so narcotically good to play again. You can probably see the grin from here.

Published in: on February 11, 2008 at 3:01 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bjonas0725.wordpress.com/2008/02/11/return-of-the-bassman/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can see the grin! Really!
    Congrats, Don! Personally, I’m a cello fan…I own one and took a semester of lessons….but due to the comic thing, I couldn’t put in enough practice to make it work out. Dangit.
    But anyway, woot to you!!

    -Dave

  2. I’m sorry to hear that, Dave. The cello’s a beautiful sounding instrument. I’m sure it’s a lot harder to master than this thing, lol.

  3. I see that pic and China Grove plays in my head. WUAH WUAH…chikka chikka….

  4. Don’t forget the theme from “Shaft”!


Leave a Reply

