Vacation so far…

Saturday

An odd day for our dads. My parents moved to Canada a few months ago, and my dad came to see us on Saturday while he was in Florida. We had a three hour visit, during which we talked and hung out and got along better than we have in a long time. I even felt comfortable enough with him to show off the writing projects I’m working on, and he surprised me by showing genuine interest, a rarity it seems. Weird.

Annie’s dad, while trimming a bush, discovered that he had disturbed a mockingbird nest. The mother flew to a nearby tree, leaving three newborn chicks and a hatching fourth!

A little background: my father-in-law was an abusive man towards his wife and children in the past, and couldn’t give a damn about animals then, too. Then years ago, he went through anger management courses which turned his ways around with his family. I always get along with him (we have the same sense of humor), but always wondered how much he had really changed inside from the man my wife tells me about.

Well, here’s my huge father-in-law on Saturday, carefully replacing the nest, very carefully replacing the hatchlings and the hatching egg, then going inside and worriedly watching from the window, praying that the mother will come back to the nest, which she did. My wife was stunned by how he was acting, and I think she sees him in a better light now. I guess it’s proof: some people CAN change.

Sunday

Had to get up early Sunday: 9:00 am. Hey, it’s early when your usual wake-up time is 2:30 pm!

This was a day of good omens for my writing, I think. After all the setup with the writing projects, I was wondering if I would have any stalls, any problems getting inspired. We went shopping on Sunday to a few stores and a flea market, and I hit a mother-lode of inspirational sources: I found a local newspaper from 1931 with a TON of pulp-ready news stories that I DEFINITELY can build upon. I also bought a book (entitled “The Airline Builders”) that has loads of pictures and articles from the golden age of aviation, and two of my 3 ideas have something to do with air-power. Lastly, I found what I’ve been trying to find for years: model kits of two of my favorite vintage aircraft- a DC-3 and a Ford Trimotor “Tin Goose”. As my birthday is a week away, I consider these an early birthday gift to myself.

Monday

As my wife and her mom have gone to visit family today, I get to stay home and putter with the computer a bit. We have a Photoshop-like program that came with our new printer, and I’ve been working on doctoring some vintage photos of aircraft and stuff. So far, so good. And that leaves me here, sitting in a quiet house, blogging freely at home for a change and looking forward to the rest of my vacation. Have to go back to work on Thursday, but it’s cool.

Published in: on May 28, 2007 at 5:41 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bjonas0725.wordpress.com/2007/05/28/vacation-so-far/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey! Glad the vacation is going well…this is my first day back at work after a very enjoyable time off. I’m having some re-adjustment trauma..but it’s nothing that a good walk won’t cure. Hopefully I’ll be up and participating on the MARDL site shortly!

    -Dave

  2. Sometimes people do change? I guess it takes something. I got a story for you which made me who I am… bit of a bitter downer


Leave a Reply

