Never Say Never…

A few weeks ago, I was talking to someone about my musical tastes, which mainly consist of “alternative” bands from the 80’s and early 90’s. I said, with great sadness, that hardly nobody I listened to tours anymore. I also expressed my sadness that The Jesus And Mary Chain, the band that introduced me to music that wasn’t top 40 crap, had broken up and would never tour again (they were also my first concert).

Now, I’ve just peered out from under my musical rock and see that not only have they reunited, they are playing the Coachella festival (and Scarlett Johansson has sung with them). This gives new hope to my old nostalgic ass. Hopefully if they tour they’ll swing by Florida’s way. Maybe I can catch them again, and maybe I can wear one of my old JAMC t-shirts….

Maybe not. That WAS over 100 pounds ago. Never mind the shirt.

Yay!  Grumpy Scottish brothers return!!

Published in: on April 30, 2007 at 7:15 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bjonas0725.wordpress.com/2007/04/30/never-say-never/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “Stoned & Dethroned” is one of my favorite albums of all time.

  2. That is a good one. My personal favorite is “Automatic”. I like their first (“Psychocandy”), though it’s DEFINITELY an acquired taste. All that feedback buries some really sweet melodies.

  3. I miss real alternative music.
    – goth is overrun with S&M deviants, stupid vamire-wannabe’s and metal heads.
    – I needn’t go on how the offshoot of punk, emo, has DE-evolved into some whiny, pseudo-angst filled crap
    – I miss early 90s grunge and riot grrrl.

  4. I hate most modern music. The only good band that’s come up recently (that I can think of) is Interpol. I think the Joy Division comparisons are unfair, and they have really come into their own.


Leave a Reply

