Inertia, Ennui, and a Gamecube

I don’t know why, but it feels like it’s been a week since my last post. Must be the drizzly, wet weather we’ve been having. Makes me want to hibernate.

Anyway, I don’t really have anything interesting to post about. I’m stuck while reading my current pulp story (Doc Savage, “The Sea Magician”), partially because I don’t really like it so far. My favorite Docs take place in foreign, exotic, or hidden lands. Y’know, “far-flung corners of the earth”. “The Sea Magician” takes place in the swamps and marshes of England. Meh.

I’ve been lazy about it. Watching movies and playing video games. Not much else.

Incidently, I got a new wrestling game (“WWE: Day Of Reckoning”, Gamecube) that I’ve been making pulp characters with. I’m really proud of the Street & Smith “holy trinity” (Shadow, Doc, and The Avenger) that I made because, for once, they ACTUALLY LOOK LIKE THEY SHOULD. (The game even has jodhper pants for Doc. Jeez…)

That’s really the only appeal that wrestling games have for me: creating characters. It’s kinda like a virtual model-kit. I build a character, sometimes give them a wrestler’s entrance, maybe even set their stats to what the character’s stats would be within the game. Then, I do nothing with them. I rarely play the game itself. It’s a good thing these games are dirt cheap. Can you tell I’m a frustrated video-game designer wannabe?

Anyway, that’s it for now. Once I wake up, I’m sure I’ll post something a bit more substantial. In the meantime, remember: “No matter where you go… there you are.”

Published in: on April 10, 2007 at 3:42 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bjonas0725.wordpress.com/2007/04/10/71/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s the best thing about games that allow people to make their characters. It’s like virtual model making you know?

    As a fellow frustrated game designer (I’ve got a horror story for you about my battles with Rockstar Games), I totally feel you. One day when I win the lotto, I’ll contact you. I’ve been working on a presentation/idea for a Big Trouble in Little China brawler.

    How is the gamecube? I think Indiana Jones and the Emperor’s Tomb is available for it right?

    I’m going to need some feedback from you dude. I’m at an impasse at a name for a gangster, well.. common thug, who has infernal powers.

    I’ve decided to pass the “sky devil” name to another fellow who’s going to be an evil version of the Rocketeer. So if you can, look at the first image in my entry and see if you can come up with something.

  2. The only bad thing about the game is that there’s no decent fedoras.

  3. I recommend City of Heroes. It’s got probably the most extensive character creation system I’ve ever found.

  4. Retro! You’re alive! Good to see your typeface again. Keep in touch, O Mysterious One.


Leave a Reply

