God Only Knows What I’d Be Without You…

My post today is kinda sappy and personal, but it needs to be written. It’s about my wife, Annie. My beloved Mrs. Dummy.

When we met, I was in danger of being a batchelor for the rest of my life. I am an incredibly shy person in real life, eschewing eye-contact whenever possible, etc. I’m not the kind of person who can easily go out and get a date, and bad luck used to rule the most casual contact with the opposite sex. I once farted in an empty book store, and a trio of pretty girls just happened to enter the store and walk right through my stink-cloud at that precise, mortifying moment. Laugh if you want to, I know I do… well now I do. My single life was plagued with events like that. And when I did finally date, I only had three girlfriends before my wife: two serious, one casual.

Have I made my point yet? Dating was hard for me. And after my last girlfriend I was not ready to date, and for a long time lived the single life without looking for a mate. A typical night for me consisted of staying up till 3 or 4 AM, eating a whole pint of Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Monkey, and playing “Xenogears” on my Playstation till my eyes were blurry. I was so desirable to the opposite sex, I’m sure.

Then, I met my wife, and it was literally love at first sight. I didn’t believe in that old cliche’, but it certainly was true for me at the moment I saw her the first time.

We went out a few times, and just like that, we were a couple. We really only dated for a day or two, then she moved in with me. It sounds like we foolishly jumped into things, but here we are, closing in on our 8th year together. And I was her first boyfriend, making it just seem all the more right, that we are all the more made for each other. She is my opposite in so many ways: she has street smarts and common sense, I have book smarts and am a complete moron. She is a realist, I live my life in fantasy land. We compliment each other, each supplying what the other lacks. Opposites really do attract.

Of course, we have our occasional bickering sessions… what couple doesn’t. But at the end of the day, when we fall asleep watching TV, we are holding hands. I can’t think of a more perfect person for me to spend my life with, and I look forward to every second.

Sappy, but true.

Published in: on March 30, 2007 at 9:15 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bjonas0725.wordpress.com/2007/03/30/god-only-knows-what-id-be-without-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awwwwwwwwww

  2. I knew that was coming. I had to fulfill my duties as a Bubblebear šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

