When He Laughs, Will It Sound Like The Crypt-Keeper?

One Halloween, when I was a young Dummy of about 10, I dressed as Ghost Rider. Unfortunately, I have no pictures of the home-made costume scanned into my computer yet, but a 10-year old made it. How good could it have been? There were construction-paper flames taped onto a store-bought full-head skull mask (that had white hair, no less). And I was a fat kid, too.

Damn, I wish I had a scanned picture to show you.

Anyway, have you SEEN the movie trailer for “Ghost Rider” yet? Seen in 3 dimensions, in full color and moving, GR looks suddenly like the worlds most bad-ass biker tattoo come to horrible, almost laughable life. All of a sudden, the character looks rediculous to me. It’s a FLAMING SKELETON riding a FLAMING MOTORCYCLE. Up the side of a SKY SCRAPER. I was excited about the movie, until I saw the damn thing in motion. Now, I’m wrestling with myself over my opinion of the character. Thanks a lot, Hollywood.

In all fairness, I haven’t read a comic book in a long time, so maybe my mindset isn’t into seeing something unbelievable being made to look real. Then again, I just saw “Superman Returns” not long ago and I fully accepted a guy in tights flying, so who knows. Either way, I’ll probably go see the movie when it comes out.

How’s about everybody else? What do you think of GR’s Hollywood look?

Published in: on January 25, 2007 at 6:55 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bjonas0725.wordpress.com/2007/01/25/when-he-laughs-will-it-sound-like-the-crypt-keeper/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve never been all that into GR, despite my comics addiction. Thus, the movie just doesn’t look all that interesting to me. That and it was directed by Mark Steven Johnson, who screwed up my beloved Daredevil’s movie. I mean, heck, I appreciate the fact that he’s a real true comics fan, but his directing and writing isn’t quite up there… at least not yet.

  2. Seeing as I’ve avoided the Daredevil movie (he was another childhood favorite, and I’ve heard such awful reviews), I don’t know what to expect.

    Tightly-crossed fingers for the upcoming Iron Man movie, though.


Leave a Reply

