Every Little Thing Counts

Isn’t it funny how something small can change us for life, in little ways?

I am afraid of spiders. And I’m a guy. I can deal with that, be secure in my manhood. But I often wonder where it comes from. My mother is scared of spiders, and so was my late uncle, and I take after them strongly. But no, something dumber was afoot when I became scared of those 8-legged bastards.

The first thing that comes to mind is “The Fly”… not the remake, but the original, 1950’s version. I saw it when I was about 4 years old, and the last scene freaked me out. (For those who haven’t seen it, the movie ends with a little half-man, half-fly trapped in a spider web, about to be devoured, screaming “Help me! Help me!”) It’s embarrassing to admit it, but that screwed me up when I was a kid.

Around the same time, my grandfather bought me a book called “Ape- Monster of the Movies”. It had photos and a story about a deleted scene from the original King Kong. Some of you will be familiar with this scene. It dealt with a pit filled with man-eating spiders and insects.

So, it’s because of two old sci-fi movies with (by todays standards) cheesy special effects that I’m scared of spiders?

Man, am I dumb.

Published in: on December 13, 2006 at 1:51 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bjonas0725.wordpress.com/2006/12/13/every-little-thing-counts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

